SC refuses hearing on Maha Vikas Aghadi

Mumbai: Shiv Sena-Nationalist Congress Party-Congress combine public parade of their 162 supporting MLAs in a bid to disprove the claims of 170 legislators made by the Bharatiya Janata Party and its ally Ajit Pawar on Nov 25, 2019. Besides the enthusiastic 162 MLAs of the three 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' partners, top leaders of all three parties like Sharad Pawar, Supriya Sule, Sanjay Raut, Ashok Chavan, Nawab Malik, Jitendra Awhad, and Aditya Thackeray and others were present.

New Delhi,  The Supreme Court on Wednesday refused an urgent hearing on a plea of a BJP activist accusing the Shiv Sena of committing breach of trust by aligning with the Congress and Nationalist Congress Party to form a government in Maharashtra.

The oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected MLAs started earlier in the day with Pro Tem Speaker Kalidas N. Kolambkar administering their oaths inside the Vidhan Bhavan.

The oath-taking ceremony was telecast live, in accordance with Supreme Court orders of Tuesday and is expected to be completed by this evening.

Chief Minister-designate Uddhav Thackeray — who is not a member of either house of the legislature — met Governor B.S. Koshyari on Wednesday. He will be sworn in at a function in Shivaji Park on Thursday at 6.40 p.m.

He was unanimously elected the leader of the Maha Vikas Aghadi for the Chief Minister’s post by the top leaders of the Shiv Sena-Nationalist Congress Party-Congress, bringing down the curtains on the political crisis which had gripped the state after the October 24 election results.